heymommablog

Loving, Learning and Letting Go

A Tennis Weekend

on October 21, 2012

This weekend was so much fun!  My singles team went to the state championships this weekend in Greensboro NC.  Here’s my team:

These are a great group of ladies, and we really had a great time getting to know each other better this weekend. We didn’t do so well in the tennis aspect, but the bonding time was unforgettable.  Tennis is something that I had taken up after Mary Cate got her driver’s license.  I found myself with a little bit more free time, and needed a hobby.  Both she and my husband play, so I wanted to get in on the action.  I think they both regret that I have!  I spend LOTS of time playing tennis now.  I also play tournaments and occasionally travel for that.  It’s a nice thing for just me…  I would recommend an activity for any mom.  I think we tend to lose ourselves to raising our children.  Not that we would change it because our kids are the better for it, but we have to have something that is just ours.  Tennis is just mine.  Even though my family also plays and its something we can do together, it has been an outreach of new friends and experiences that I wouldn’t change for the world.  With MC having her own life, it wouldn’t be good or healthy for me to sit around and miss her too much!!

Mary Cate was home for fall break this weekend, but of course I had a tennis commitment.  So she drove up to Greensboro on Thursday night and spent two nights with me so we could hang for awhile.  I am always most proud when she meets new people and is always so friendly and conversational.  Many people told me this weekend how great my daughter is after only speaking with her a few minutes.  That says a lot about that kid!!  I never get tired of hearing that.
She’s back in Columbia, and I am feeling the sting of the down side of a fabulous weekend and the quiet empty house.  Sigh….

I think MC will have some humorous posts about our time together is she finds the time this week!  Here’s a few more pictures to enjoy!!!

Us before a Halloween Party last weekend!

 

 

Some more great ladies! Great friendships made this weekend.

 

One response to “A Tennis Weekend

  1. Peter Fleming says:

    Sorry to hear that the tennis side of you weekend didn’t go as well as hoped, but happy that you and MC had a great time. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

