heymommablog

Loving, Learning and Letting Go

Goodbye 2013

on December 29, 2013

This poor blog has been so ignored.  For those of you who like to read it, I apologize.  But I swear, from August to today has flown by in a nano second.  How do we find ourselves so busy this last quarter of the year?  I just don’t know.  But here is the last quarter of our year in pictures and some short little anecdotes.

Mary Cate moved into a new apartment and ended the summer with sorority recruitment as a type of counselor to those girls going through that tough time of recruitment (we don’t call it rush anymore).  I spent a week down in Columbia making her apartment homey, and taking care of her puppy Harley.

IMG_0602

This was just part of the finished product.  It was fun being in Columbia for that week and taking care of Mary Cate and her roommate.  I would be such a good house mom!  : )

The end of August brought a new group of third graders and the beginning of football season.  I LOVE being back in the classroom and greeting my new class felt so great!  This group of 3rd graders are absolutely wonderful.  I love each and every one of them, and I especially love the way they love and care for each other.  They are really special kids and I am looking forward to this last half of the year with them.  Being back in the classroom, I have seen my attitude toward teaching change a bit.  I still have high expectations for my students, but I am a bit more forgiving and tolerant than I have been in the past.  I tease with my team teacher, that I am now the grandma they all need : ).

The fall of 2013 also brought Gamecock Football.  We started the season against UNC in about 115 degree heat.  Good win, though and it ended with a spectacular thunderstorm!  The best part of this season for me was being able to spend time with my sister and brother in law.  We found the perfect tailgating spot, and just enjoyed each other.  Looking forward to more fun next year!

IMG_0772 IMG_07121401355_10152009591174462_659103878_o

The fall also brought at trip to NYC with Alan’s work.  We had a blast.  MC was tickled because weather allowed her to stay an extra night!!!

IMG_0671 IMG_0678 IMG_0674

Finn also had his man hood taken away in November.  Poor baby, but he did well.  Our vet is just the best, and they sent me this pic when he was out of surgery:

IMG_0735

Our Christmas was nice, and we will end the year with a trip to Orlando to see our Gamecocks play one last game!

1537799_10152096534244462_250990180_o 1528591_10201793846342549_1380029284_n

And this last picture about sums up the year.  2013 has been the year of the dogs!!  I am looking forward to 2014 and all that it has in store.  This is always a reflective time of year looking upon the past and making hopes and dreams for the future.  My hope for this blog is that I will give it more attention!  Happy New Year Everyone!

1521537_10201793911384175_408782233_n

Leave a Reply

