heymommablog

Loving, Learning and Letting Go

My Daughter-My Hero

on February 14, 2014

This has been a crazy couple of weeks.  Especially for Mary Cate.  In the last two weeks, she has discovered information that has had to cause her to move apartments..again!  Hopefully for that last time now.  In the last two weeks pieces of a puzzle that we were unsure about have all fit together, and it has ended up being not pretty, to say the least.  But I am so proud of the way Mary Cate has handled it, and I know that after making some difficult decisions, that she will come out on the other side okay. 

My Wish For You - Wall Art Print (Quote) for my girls room =)

We also celebrated her 21st birthday in a big way!  I had so much fun going out with her friends, and helping her celebrate.  It was hilarious to me that everyone we ran into was so surprised that her mom was with her celebrating her 21st birthday.  Why wouldn’t I be???  A bit of advice to those who read this…celebrate this stuff.  Big and small.  You never get another chance to mark this milestones with your children.  Mary Cate and I were just two for so long, that it doesn’t even occur to me to not celebrate these things.  I am just glad that she still wants me along!!

Today is hopefully the end of snowmagedden 2014.  Yes, I wished for the snow, but I like to be able to get out of the house.  I really have only been stuck for about 24 hours, but it has made me a bit stir crazy!!  We have been keeping Mary Cate’s dog Harley with us, for reasons mentioned above, and he is very much like a toddler–very active and wanting a lot of attention!  He goes back tomorrow though and I know MC and her new roommates will be glad to have him back.

I wanted to end this post with an excerpt from another blog I read at Momastery.com.  You should really follow her, she is great.  But I thought it was appropriate for Valentines Day weekend!

REAL love is not pink and fluffy and rose-y and butterflies. Real love is not shiny and whole and smiling serenely. Real love is not holding hands while running through fields of sunflowers or gazing over chardonnay while wearing sexy dresses and opening boxes of diamonds. It’s just not. That stuff is something else. That stuff is something that can be packaged and sold, which is why we see a lot of it this time of year.

Real love is tough as nails. Real love is busted up and scuffed and a little jagged and exhausted.  Real love is a nightmare at 1 am and a fever at 3 am and everybody else up at 6 and work at 9. Real love is ten band aids when there’s not a scrape to be seen. Real love is losing your temper seven times and apologizing eight times. Real love is overwhelmed and exhausted and just DONE at the end of each day. Real love is ADHD and autism and hurt feelings and sucky report cards and cancer and daddy’s gone and listen, babies- this is life- this is brutiful life- and there is still much beauty to be found. Let’s find it together. Real love is knowing that tears of exhaustion are not signs that you’re on the wrong track- tears of exhaustion are confirmation that you are pouring out every bit of your heart and soul and body and mind and energy in service to your people. And that means, perhaps, that you are on the right track. That you are living out a mission worthy of you. Tears of exhaustion are often a badge of honor.

– See more at: http://momastery.com/blog/#sthash.NkDd7LrA.dpuf

 
Have a great weekend everyone!! 
Leave a Reply

